Tuesday, July 10, 2012

Drain You by M. Beth Bloom


Amazon / Goodreads


Blurb via Goodreads-

"There’s normal, and then there’s paranormal, and neither is Quinlan Lacey’s cup of Diet Coke.

Quinn’s life is a red carpet of weird fashions, hip bands, random parties, and chilling by the pool with her on-and-off BF Libby. There’s also her boring job (minimum wage), a crushed out co-worker (way too interested), her summer plans (nada), and her parents (totally clueless). Then one night she meets gorgeous James, and Quinn’s whole world turns crazy, Technicolor, 3-D, fireworks, whatever.

But with good comes bad, and unfortunately Quinn’s new romance brings with it some majorly evil baggage. LA is crawling with gangs of the undead, all aching to drain something. Now, to make things right, Quinn has to do a lot of things wrong.

Quinn’s goal: to stay sane, cool, in love, and alive.

With a one-of-a-kind protagonist, high-fidelity friendships, wicked LA nightlife, and a restless romance, this unforgettable debut from M. Beth Bloom is perfect for fans of Heather Brewer and John Green."


Drain You was a very interesting read. I really loved Quinn, she is a snarky hot mess. The story was extremely intriguing, the 80's/90's references were fun. I was really into Drain You but towards the end, I'm sad to say that it just fizzled out for me.  I just somehow lost interest in the book.  However, I did enjoyed the beginning enough to want to read more from this author.

3.5 out of 5 stars

Special Thanks to HarperTeen and Edelweiss for providing an ARC e-book in exchange for an honest review.

3 comments:

Read, Write, Read said...

Sorry this book didn't keep you interested throughout the whole book. I've been curious about this book and I think I'll still give it a try. Thanks for the review!

Kara said...

This book sounds interesting

Come sign up for my Summer Book Exchange until July 29
http://karalovesreading.blogspot.com/2012/07/summer-book-swap.html?m=1

Randi Black said...

Sorry to hear you weren't 100% into it. It's hard to resist a book named after a Nirvana song that has gangs of L.A. vampires, and I might still give it a try, too.